//
blog
blog

Drawing of silk yarn

Pen on paper

Today I finished this drawing of my new Shilasdair silk cord from the Knit and Stitch show. I’m going to try and make a screen print from it, hence why it’s done in black and white. To me, skeins and balls of yarn are such beautiful objects on their own, so full of potential for what they could become. And eventhough in my illustration I don’t show the rich colour that saturates this yarn, you can begin to appreciate it for it’s materiality and texture.

If the screen printing goes well, it might be interesting to see how other types of yarn look when drawn in this way. Whether you can differentiate a silk from a wool in a simple drawing.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

